red mill rolled oats gluten free

is oatmeal gluten free? | bob's red mill

If you or a friend are maintaining a gluten free diet, then youve probably wondered about oatmeal, and breakfast in general. Many breakfast foods are landmines in the gluten free community: namely, wheat-based biscuits, cereals, pancakes, pastries, donuts, oh my! Some of these we will give a resounding NO to, but in actuality, there are many grains that are safe to eat on a gluten free diet. For the most part, oatmeal is one of them. Notice that we said, for the most part. As with all foods, there are some concerns to take into consideration, and we have gathered all the information you need to know about whether oatmeal is safe for your gluten free diet or not!

Gluten is a protein found in several grain sources, namely wheat, rye, barley and triticale. If you havent heard of this last one, it is because triticale is a hybrid of rye and barley, so it is less familiar to most of us. Gluten helps baked goods rise. However, gluten is not found in other grain sources, like rice, buckwheat, corn or pure oats, so these grains will typically be safe for those with gluten intolerance. Fruits, veggies, meat and other foods are naturally gluten free, so they will also be safe for anyone with a gluten sensitivity unless they become cross contaminated.

As we mentioned, oats themselves are naturally gluten free. However, as with all foods, there are also some concerns with oatmeal that gluten intolerant people will want to be aware of to avoid any issues or painful flareups. Although many oats are safe for gluten intolerant individuals, cross-contamination can occur in facilities or even in fields where wheat, rye or barley are also present. But if not all oats are safe for gluten free diets, the follow up question is whether oatmeal is gluten free!

The main issue for oatmeal when it comes to gluten is contamination. While oats themselves do not contain any gluten proteins, it is very easy for them to become contaminated by grains that do. Large, big-box commercial rolled oats are often produced, processed or packaged in facilities that also handle other grains like wheat, barley or rye--all of which contain gluten. Many of these facilities deal with grains that are milled into small particles--like flour--so its quite easy for the oat products to be contaminated by other (gluten containing) grains.

Even if the oats are never in the same facility as grains that contain gluten, they could still be contaminated. A good portion of the oats in the United States are grown in fields near other grains, so there is the potential for contamination during the growing process, and this contamination is never fully eradicated during the processing stages. Wind and weather patterns, as well as other environmental factors, can actually change the amount of contamination in a product from season to season, even with the same exact farms. Thus, you may end up with an oatmeal containing 100% oats that still causes some issues for a person with celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity.

As always, Bobs Red Mill is dedicated to bringing you safe gluten free foods. Beginning in 2019, we now offer some products that are certified gluten free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, a branch of the Gluten Intolerance Group. You can identify these select products by the GFCO logo on the product packages. Other Bobs Red Mill gluten free products will continue to be tested and confirmed gluten free per our strict gluten free protocols. You can identify these products by the red GF logo and the gluten free testing statement on the product packages.

Contamination isnt your only worry when it comes to ensuring that your oatmeal is gluten free. Oatmeal commonly comes in other flavors or varieties with added fruits, veggies or spices. These are delicious, but face the same risks that the oats do when it comes to gluten contamination. Youll want to make sure that none of the added ingredients contain gluten grains, but theres an additional step to take. Even fruits like apples and bananas, which do not naturally contain gluten, can still be in danger of that trace contamination from the fields or from the factories, so look for a gluten free stamp on all of your oatmeal to ensure you wont have any accidental issues.

There are of course different sensitivity levels when it comes to gluten, which will change things as well. If you or your loved one has been diagnosed with celiac disease, this is typically the most extreme form of gluten intolerance with the most sensitivity to gluten contamination. If this is the case, then we would recommend avoiding all large commercial oatmeals, or oatmeals with additives, just to be on the safe side. Oat products that are labeled gluten free will be your best friend in the morning, though! If you have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, then you should just be aware of your own body and your own needs. You will always be safest if you look for the gluten free label, but there typically arent large amounts of gluten contamination in oatmeal, even if there is a little bit.

Be careful, though, as those weather patterns can make contamination vary from season to season; you may eat a certain oatmeal for years and then develop a negative reaction to a certain batch of it one day. If it is someone else who has a gluten sensitivity that you are cooking for, then we definitely recommend erring on the side of caution, as you never know their individual needs!

Cooking gluten free oatmeal is exactly the same as cooking with regular oatmeal, as there is no actual difference in the oats themselves. Try some of our favorite oatmeal recipes with any kind of oatmeal that you buy! Of course, if you are cooking for a gluten intolerant person, then it is important to ensure that your recipe does not include any additional ingredients that contain gluten! Watch out for wheat, barley, rye and triticale: you should be safe as long as the recipe does not call for those grains in any form.

In addition to eating it by the bowl, oatmeal is a great alternative ingredient in gluten free baking as well! We love using oatmeal in place of wheat flours in gluten-free recipes like this delicious Wheat Free Oatmeal Cake and these Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies, all gluten free! The oatmeal helps ingredients stick together, a similar purpose to flour in most recipes, and it also crumbles in a delicious, chewy texture which is perfect for muffins, pies, and cookies!

There is actually a small subset of the population of gluten intolerant people who also have an oat intolerance. The scientific community has conflicting opinions on whether this is simply due to trace contamination, but there have been studies that link some people to a more specific oat sensitivity. No food is 100% safe for everyone, so if you have any discomfort while eating oats, especially if you are trying out the gluten free labeled varieties, then consult with your doctor immediately. It may be the case that oats are simply not the best option for your body! When cooking for others, even if you know they are gluten intolerant, make sure to also question whether they are oat sensitive or not. Labeling your food in large group settings is always a good idea--you never know what someone may be sensitive to!

The short answer to the question of oats being gluten free is a resounding yes, however there are always considerations to think about if you have any kind of sensitivity. Due to their close nature in the field and in the factory, oats may have some gluten contamination that makes them unsuitable for your consumption if you have a gluten intolerance. The exact levels of contamination can vary, as can your sensitivity to them, so be careful, and look for the gluten free label if you are at all concerned about your intestinal abilities to process gluten. Try some of the delicious oatmeal recipes we shared above, and let us know which ones are your favorites by commenting below!

gluten free extra thick rolled oats | bob's red mill natural foods

All Bobs Red Mill products are made without the use of bioengineering, using ingredients grown from identity preserved seeds. We are committed to sourcing ingredients that are made without the use of modern biotechnology.

bob's red mill organic old fashioned rolled oats gluten free hive brands

This is like your one stop shop for sunscreen, moisturizer, and slight medium-toned tint. Its all you need for when youre on the go or cinched for time before heading to work.

From old-fashioned to steel cut to Hall &, there are a lot of different kinds of oats out there. Being rolled means this nutrient-packed variety is flattened for optimum flakiness and absorbency. Plus, theyre rolled in their own special facility, so their perfection isnt marred by gluten contaminants. Soft, robust, and made with love, theyre one of our favorites.

Wheat has been a staple since the early days of civilization, and stone-milling didn't come far behind, rising to prominence in Ancient Rome. While much of modern flour production uses high-temperature roller mills to speed up the manufacturing process, Bobs Red Mill thinks, If its not broke, dont fix it, committing to a slow, steady, stone-milling process that maintains flavor, texture, and nutrients. Their commitment to time-tested techniques makes them a household name in health food, but it doesnt mean theyre stuck in the past. Theyre breaking tradition with non-GMO ingredients; an expansive catalogue of gluten- and allergen-free, and vegan products; and a groundbreaking Employee Stock Ownership Plan. They also support social justice through the NAACP.

Mix one part oats, one part coconut yogurt, one part coconut milk, and a spoonful of peanut butter, then refrigerate overnight, for an easy, dairy- and gluten-free breakfast.

gluten free oats - bob's red mill blog

In honor of National Oatmeal Month, I thought I would take a few minutes to talk a bit about gluten free oats. It's been almost three years since we introduced gluten free oats into the mainstream marketplace, but we still get a lot of questions about them.

If you don't follow the gluten free diet, you may not understand why oat products are such a big deal for those on a gluten free diet, after all oats do not naturally contain gluten. They do contain a protein known as avenin, which is very similar to gluten and can cause adverse reactions in some people. Avenin-sensitivity is not limited to people with celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity and can affect people of all walks. It is not particularly common, but you can find more information about it here.

This is one reason why oats should be introduced slowly into the gluten free diet, as celiacs are more likely to be sensitive to avenin. The second main reason why anyone on the gluten free diet should introduce oats slowly into their diet is that the fiber in oats can be hard on a compromised digestive tract. Start with a small serving, about 1/4 cup, per day until your body adjusts. And we always recommend talking with your physician before adding oats into a gluten free diet.

Oats have long been on the "forbidden foods" list for those with celiac disease because of cross-contact issues at the farm level. Wheat and oats have traditionally been rotation crops which is not ideal for preventing cross-contact. It's nearly impossible to keep wheat from cropping up with oats when grown as rotation crops. This happens all across the board in the farming industry. Usually, it's not a problem because most grains can be sorted using high-tech machines. Oats and wheat, however, are very similar in shape, size and color, making standard grain-cleaning practices almost ineffective. New technology has been introduced into the industry that can detect the subtle differences in the two grains, making it far easier to produce gluten free oats.

At Bob's Red Mill, our gluten free oats are batch tested before, during and after processing using anELISA Gluten Assay to ensure they meet our strict standards. You can watch a short video about our gluten free facility here.

We now proudly offer many varieties of gluten free oats, including regular rolled oats, steel-cut oats, Scottish oats, quick oats, oatmeal cups and oat flour. I've heard oat bran may be on the list next, but that's news from the rumor mill.

gluten free rolled oats :: bob's red mill natural foods

All Bobs Red Mill products are made without the use of bioengineering, using ingredients grown from identity preserved seeds. We are committed to sourcing ingredients that are made without the use of modern biotechnology.

bob's red mill organic thick rolled oats gluten free hive brands

This is like your one stop shop for sunscreen, moisturizer, and slight medium-toned tint. Its all you need for when youre on the go or cinched for time before heading to work.

Picture a quiet kitchen, just after sunrise, with a warm mug in hand and a brown sugar-scented bowl wafting steam as the world wakes up around you. Even if youre just scooping spoonfuls between morning meetings or sneaking a bite of a homemade oatmeal bar on the subway, these extra-thick, gluten-free oats taste like peaceful mornings. And a little bit nutty.

Wheat has been a staple since the early days of civilization, and stone-milling didn't come far behind, rising to prominence in Ancient Rome. While much of modern flour production uses high-temperature roller mills to speed up the manufacturing process, Bobs Red Mill thinks, If its not broke, dont fix it, committing to a slow, steady, stone-milling process that maintains flavor, texture, and nutrients. Their commitment to time-tested techniques makes them a household name in health food, but it doesnt mean theyre stuck in the past. Theyre breaking tradition with non-GMO ingredients; an expansive catalogue of gluten- and allergen-free, and vegan products; and a groundbreaking Employee Stock Ownership Plan. They also support social justice through the NAACP.

gluten free organic thick whole rolled oats | bob's red mill natural foods

This product was grown and produced using a uniform set of methods established by the United States Department of Agricultures National Organic Program and third-party certified organic by Quality Assurance International.

All Bobs Red Mill products are made without the use of bioengineering, using ingredients grown from identity preserved seeds. We are committed to sourcing ingredients that are made without the use of modern biotechnology.